top of page

Porter Cup Contacts

Celebrating Over Six Decades of Amateur Golf History

Porter Cup Directors

Marty Shimmel 

Marty has served on Porter Cup Executive Committee for nineteen years, the last four as Assistant Tournament Director. He has also been Media Chairman for the past eleven years and will continue to serve in that capacity in addition to Tournament Director. Over the years he has been involved in all aspects of the tournament and served as Chairman for the 50th Porter Cup in 2008. 


Janelle Degregorio

Janelle has served on the Porter Cup Executive Committee for ten years, becoming a tournament director three years ago. She is also the chair of the scoring committee and will continue to maintain that role. She has been volunteering for the tournament for over 20 years and has played a key role in the expansion of the women’s tournament over the past few years. 

Tournament Directors

Assistant Tournament Directors

Michael Boss 

As a former Porter Cup participant Mike proudly serves on the Porter Cup Executive Committee.  Mike’s involvement in the Porter Cup dates back 20+ years, working all aspects of the tournament operation. As a former accomplished collegiate and amateur golfer Mike looks forward to growing the Porter Cup while maintaining the traditions that make the event so special. 

John Burns

John has served on the Executive Committee since 2018 and currently serves as the Head Rules Official. He also serves on the NFCC board of Governors and the New York State Golf Association and Buffalo District golf Association.

PJ Alterio

Senior Tournament Director

P.J. has been a member of the Porter Cup Executive Committee since 1995.  For the last ten years, he served as Assistant Tournament Director of Porter Cup and Tournament Director of Women’s Porter Cup, and the last three years he has assumed the role of Co-Tournament Director for Senior Porter Cup.  He previously served as Advertising Chairman from 1997-2022 and was Chairman of the 2007 Porter Cup won by 2023 Open Champion, Brian Harman.  P.J. has participated in ten Porter Cup’s over the last four decades and will be eligible for Senior Porter Cup this year.

Executive Committee

Ronald Soluri

NFCC President


JP Bedard

NFCC Head Golf Professional


Alan Cohen

NFCC General Mgr/CEO


Dena Armstrong

Qualifier Chair

Michael Vitch


Dustin Rose

Ham-Am Chair

Bob Travis



Raeanne Argy-Tyler


Melissa Morinello

Housing Chair

Joe Fabian


Selena Borek


Dave Silver

Assist. Senior Tournament Director


Darius Myles


Director Emeritus

John Hoffman

Frank Shipman

Steve Denn

Dena Armstrong

Michael Vitch

bottom of page